Low-Income Housing Tax Credits & Sustainable Development in Missouri, 2018

The 2018 Missouri Qualified Allocation Plan (QAP) lists energy audit standards and criteria a project has to meet to receive a basis boost.

Green and Sustainable Communities

If the development involves new construction, utilize sustainable building techniques and materials to meet the current standards of one of the certification levels of the following green building rating systems: Enterprise Green Communities, any of the LEED rating systems, or the National Green Building Standard (ICC 700 or “NGBS”). In addition, to meet the sustainable housing requirement, the applicant must:

a.   Demonstrate at the time of application, Firm Submission (as defined in the Developer’s Guide), and construction completion that the development will meet or has met the design and construction requirements for any certification level offered by the three accepted rating systems. The development is not required to receive formal certification, but must be designed and built in such a manner that it could receive formal certification. Green building criteria utilized must be clearly documented for MHDC staff’s review and confirmation.

b.   Have at least one development team member who is an accredited green building professional with proven experience in sustainable design and/or construction. The team member must be a LEED AP®, LEED Green Associate™ or a Certified Green Professional™. If the development is not being formally certified, the development team member must document the pledged green building standards with pictures, provide a signed and scored scoring tool, and a brief narrative during the construction process. 

The design of each development will be examined closely to assess its appropriateness for the site, the market, and the population being served. The following will be taken into account when evaluating the application:

i. Access into and out of the site and parking;

ii. Placement of buildings on the site;

iii. Development amenities, including but not limited to wifi access, community space, proximity to services, health and fitness space, playgrounds, picnic shelters, community gardens, trails, proximity to transit options;

iv. Type and quality of materials;

v. Energy efficiency and overall sustainability;

vi. Condition and suitability of structures being reused;

vii. Scope of work for rehabilitation or renovation;

viii. Population appropriate design features (for example, universal design features, interior and exterior common spaces, storage space, accessibility, adaptability, safety features, etc.); and

ix. Exterior Design aesthetics that blend well with the surrounding area.

MHDC will decide, in its sole discretion, what evidence and what types of development will qualify for an increase in qualified basis for mixed-use economic development areas. An important factor is that the MHDC development is not the only development taking place and the MHDC development will enhance the overall plan, rather than be the overall plan. It is expected the plan, of which the MHDC development is a part, contemplates the development of multiple buildings over and area of reasonable size. This will not apply to a singular structure, regardless of location. 

No application proposing the delivery of new units will be approved if it is deemed by MHDC to adversely impact any existing MHDC development(s), exist in a questionable market, or create excessive concentration of multifamily units.

Contributed By: 
National Housing Trust

Other Items of Interest