Low Income Housing Tax Credits & Sustainable Development in Indiana, 2012-2013

Indiana's 2012-2013 Qualified Allocation Plan awards points for high performance building, and for projects included in redevelopment or community revitalization plans.

Indiana's 2012-2013 QAP prioritizes high performance building that minimizes environmental impacts and operation costs, while maximizing both quality and sustainability. As a threshold requirement, rehabilitation and new construction projects must supply an Energy Star refrigerator.

In addition, Indiana awards 3 points for providing an Energy Star Rated furnace or heat pump, Energy Star rated air conditioner, and Energy Star Rated windows and exterior doors in every unit. A maximum of 5 points is available (1/2 point for every item) for the following energy-efficient measures:
• Energy Star® Rated dishwashers in every unit
• Energy Star® qualified roof products (for all buildings) in every unit
• Energy Star® Rated ceiling fans in every unit
• Installation of Energy Star® Rated lighting fixtures or the Energy Star® Advanced Lighting Package in all interior units and use of Energy Star® or high-efficiency commercial grade fixtures in all common areas and outdoors.
• Energy Star® rated clothes washer in every unit
• Programmable thermostat in every unit
• Use of insulation blankets for all hot water heaters – rehabilitation only when replacement of water heaters is not being proposed.
• Energy Star® Rated bathroom fans that exhaust to the outdoors in every unit
• Energy Star® labeled range hood fans in each unit
• Tankless or “Point of Use” water heaters in every unit
• Water conservation Toilets – 1.3 GPF (gallons per flush) or better in every unit
• Water conservation Showerheads – 2.0 GPM (gallons per minute) or better in every unit
• Water conservation Kitchen faucets – 1.5 GPM or better in every unit
• Water conservation – lavatory faucets – 2.0 GPM or better in every unit
• Energy Star® Fenestration products (examples include windows, doors, skylights) - Energy Star fenestration products may not be included as part of the required number of items in this section, if Points are to be awarded for Energy Star® Certified Envelopes.
• Energy Star® rated water heaters

Indiana also awards up to 6 points for projects that receive various certifications, including LEED, meeting the International Energy Conservation Code Standards, and achieving certain HERS ratings, or an equivalent rating for systems that are accredited by the American National Standards institute, as follows:

• LEED Silver Rating : 4 points
• LEED Gold Rating: 5 points
• LEED Platinum Rating: 6 points
• ICC 700-2008 Silver Rating National Green Building Standard: 4 points
• ICC 700-2008 Gold Rating National Green Building Standard : 5 points
• ICC 700-2008 Emerald Rating National Green Building Standard: 6 points
• Energy Star HERS Rating of <80: 2 Points
• Energy Star HERS Rating of <75: 2.5 Points
• Energy Star HERS Rating of <70: 3 Points
• Energy Star HERS Rating of <65: 3.5 Points
• Energy Star HERS Rating of <60: 4 Points
• Energy Star HERS Rating < 55: 4.5 Points
• Equivalent rating system accredited by the American National Standards institute: Up to 6 Points

Indiana’s 2012-2013 QAP prioritizes comprehensive community development, which includes the rehabilitation of long-vacant housing. The QAP includes a 10% set-aside for “community impact,” defined as being an important part of a broader or comprehensive program of neighborhood improvement, and that which have the capability of fundamentally changing the character of a neighborhood.

Indiana’s 2012-2013 QAP awards 7 points for rehabilitation developments that support community preservation. The development must be at least 75% rehabilitation, part of a City or a Town’s Revitalization Plan, or infill housing that conforms to the existing neighborhood.

In addition, Indiana awards 11-14 points if there is an adopted redevelopment or community revitalization plan that clearly targets the specific neighborhood in which the project is located. The plan must include detailed policy goals for the rehabilitation or production of affordable rental housing and specific time frames for achieving policy goals and housing activities. Short-term works plans, consolidated plans, municipal zoning or land use plans, or outdated plans are not eligible.

An additional 7 points are available for infill housing—the development of vacant or underused parcels of land within existing urban areas that are already largely developed or previously developed.

Contributed By: 
National Housing Trust

Other Items of Interest