Low Income Housing Tax Credits & Sustainable Development in Arizona, 2016

Arizona's 2016 LIHTC Qualified Allocation Plan awards point for sustainable development and location efficiency.

Arizona’s 2016 QAP includes the following goal: “to develop and promote Sustainable Development,” defined as “a pattern of resource use that aims to meet human needs while preserving the environment so that these human needs can be met not only in the present, but also for generations to come and means more specifically, a description of the products, approaches or methods that are used to meet these general resource aims.”

Additionally, up to 17.5 points are available to projects with facilities that are located within 1 mile or less in a straight line radius of the site and specifically serve the proposed resident population.

For projects located in a rural area, the distance is expanded to 2 miles (rural projects are defined as those outside of Maricopa or Pima County).

  • Grocery Store: max 5 points - That is a WIC vendor: 5 points - Without WIC contract: 4 points
  • Schools (Households with Children Project only): 5 points
  • Senior Center (Housing for Older Persons project only): 5 points
  • Hospital, Urgent Care Clinic, or Federally Qualified Health Center: 2.5 points
  • Recreation Center or Public Park: 2.5 points
  •  Public Library: 2.5 points

A maximum of 20 points are available for Sustainable Development.

20 are available to Projects that are pursuing the LEED for Homes Gold certification path.

10 points are available to Projects that follow the performance-based path for energy efficiency based on the Home Energy Rating System (“HERS”) index beyond the baseline index of sixty-seven. If applicant chooses the HERS approach, Applicant may gain up to an additional10 points by choosing prescriptive elements from the Materials and Indoor Air Quality options (up to 6 points) and/or Water Efficiency options (up to 4 points).

Up to 20 points are available to Projects that follow the prescriptive-based path, by choosing items from a finite list that has three categories: materials and indoor air quality, water efficiency, and energy efficiency. This list distinguishes between new construction and rehabilitation, with more potential points being available for new construction.

Additionally, 1 point is available to projects located with a QCT or DDA and 5 points are available to projects located in a HUD designated Neighborhood Revitalization Strategy Area (NRSA).

Contributed By: 
National Housing Trust

Other Items of Interest