Low Income Housing Tax Credits & Rural Housing in Washington, 2018

The 2018 Washington Qualified Allocation Plan awards points for rural developments 

 Projects located in Rural Areas automatically qualify for the State Designated 130% eligible basis boost. For the purposes of this policy, a Rural Area is defined as follows:

  •    Counties with a population of less than 90,000, except for those cities within these counties with a population of greater than 25,000. For example, Franklin County except the City of Pasco
  •  Counties with a population greater than 90,000 but less than 390,000 when more than an aggregated 25% of that county’s population resides in one substantially contiguous metropolitan area. In this case, the county except such metropolitan area would be considered rural. For example, Yakima County except the City of Yakima

To qualify as a Rural Project, the entire project must be located in one or more of the following counties: Adams, Asotin, Benton (except Kennewick and Richland), Chelan (except Wenatchee), Clallam, Columbia, Cowlitz (except Longview), Douglas (except East Wenatchee), Ferry, Franklin (except Pasco), Garfield, Grant, Grays Harbor, Island (except Oak Harbor), Jefferson, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Okanogan, Pacific, Pend Oreille, San Juan, Skagit (except Mount Vernon), Skamania, Stevens, Thurston (except the cities of Olympia, Lacey, and Tumwater), Wahkiakum, Walla Walla (except the City of Walla Walla), Whatcom (except Bellingham), Whitman (except Pullman), Yakima (except the City of Yakima). 

Two points will be awarded to Rural Projects that are:

  • Located within a 2-mile driving distance of 4 or more facilities from the list below; AND
  •  One of the 4 facilities must be a supermarket, a grocery store with produce or a farmers’ market supermarket, a grocery store with produce or a farmers’ market.



Contributed By: 
National Housing Trust

Other Items of Interest