Low Income Housing Tax Credits & Rural Housing in Nebraska, 2016

Nebraska’s 2016 Qualified Allocation Plan sets aside 50% of its total LIHTC allocation to non-metro areas.

Nebraska’s 2016 QAP includes set-asides for Metro areas and balance of the state. Metro set-asides (MSAs) are considered to be South Sioux City MSA (Dakota and Dixon Counties), Lincoln MSA (Lancaster and Seward Counties), and Omaha MSA (Cass, Douglas, Sarpy, Saunders, and Washington Counties). Any areas not in these designated cities are considered to be non-metro, and will be awarded the remaining 50% of the total LIHTC allocation.

Developments located in non-metro areas (outside of an MSA) that have an average combined gross rent amount that would be affordable to households with an income less than 45% of the county’s Area Median Income (AMI) may request up to a 20% Basis Boost.

In addition, Nebraska’s QAP awards 3 points to developments located in communities with a total population of 5,000 or less.

Contributed By: 
National Housing Trust

Other Items of Interest